East Java

East Java, Indonesian Jawa Timur, propinsi (or provinsi; province), eastern Java, Indonesia. It is bounded by the province of Central Java (Jawa Tengah) to the west, the Java Sea to the north, the Indian Ocean to the south, and the Bali Strait to the east. It includes numerous surrounding islands, most notably Madura, Sapudi, Raas, and Bawean, as well as the Kangean and Masalembo island groups in the Java Sea. The capital is the coastal city of Surabaya, in the north-central part of the province.

A series of great volcanic cones, including the highest one, Mount Arjuno, rising to 10,955 feet (3,339 metres), runs lengthwise through East Java from west to east. The cones constitute an upland zone that acts as a barrier to communication. Broad valleys, roughly one every 20 to 30 miles (30 to 50 km) and mostly covered with volcanic debris, separate the volcanic peaks. Repeated replenishment of the fertility of the soil with lava and ash has occurred around the cities of Madiun, Kediri, and Malang, and, as a result, these areas are heavily populated and intensively cultivated. A discontinuous series of plateaus flanks the volcanic belt in the south, extends for more than 100 miles (160 km) along the coast, and becomes progressively more barren toward the drier east. The northern flank of the volcanic belt comprises a stretch of limestone highlands that extends eastward into Madura and stands in contrast to the province’s highly fertile northern coastal plain.

Faulting and folding have caused most of the streams to drain northward toward the sheltered inner Java Sea. The Solo and Brantas rivers have extended their drainage basins deep into the southern uplands. Other major streams include the Madiun in the west-central part of the province and the Sampeyan in the southeast. The uplands (barring their eastern margin) and the valley slopes are covered with teak, ebony, betel palm (Areca catechu), pine, oak, maple, and the sturdy species of casuarina (family Casuarinaceae) commonly known as ironwood (or beefwood). The river basins are bordered by a dense growth of bamboo thickets, and the coastal lowlands are dotted with various types of casuarina and herbaceous plants.


Agriculture is the main source of livelihood for most of the population. The main crop, rice, is grown on terraced slopes. Other crops, including tea, coffee, rubber, corn (maize), spices, tobacco, sugarcane, copra, cassava, and natural fibres, are raised on unterraced slopes and in coastal lowlands. Kapok and cinchona are grown on the highlands. The province’s industries include shipbuilding, automobile assembly, textile milling, metalworking, petroleum, and the manufacture of machinery, glass, chemicals, leather and rubber goods, transport equipment, paper, processed food, and beverages. A fertilizer plant is located at Gresik. There is a network of roads and railways linking Surabaya to the other major cities of the province, including Pasuruan, Probolinggo, Malang, Blitar, Kediri, Madiun, and Mojokerto. The Javanese and Madurese are the province’s major ethnic groups, and they both follow Islam. There are also a considerable number of Balinese, Indians, and Chinese. Early Hindu and Buddhist bathing places, cave hermitages, temples, and images of gods are located at various sites in the province. Area 18,456 square miles (47,800 square km). Pop. (2000) 34,765,993; (2010) 37,476,757.



Direct flight Singapore – Juanda (SUB)

Scoot                  08.20 – 09.35 return 20.20 – 23.55

Singapore           07.50 – 09.50 return 10.10 – 13.30

Air Asia               10.10 – 11.40 return 12.45 – 16.25

Batik Air              11.50 – 13.10 return 07.45 – 11.00

Jetstar                 11.10 – 12.30 return 13.20 – 16.40

Direct flight Kuala Lumpur – Juanda (SUB)

Malaysia             07.25 – 09.10 return 10.00 – 13.40

Air Asia               09.05 – 10.45 return 14.30 – 18.15

Lion Air               13.00 – 14.40 return 08.30 – 12.10